2013 Fall Concert


NorthWinds strives to be recognized as the premier wind symphony in the greater Kansas City region. We invite you to come join us as we begin our 10th season of performing throughout the Northland as our Fall Concert will be held on Sunday, October 13th, 4:00 PM at Park Hill High School. Our first concert this season will feature a variety of different pieces, some of which feature the power of our brass section throughout; others that will feature wonderful melodic music from our woodwind players. And a highlight piece for our first concert this year, a band arrangement of selected hits from a recently-famed Broadway musical, which will be following a Yellow Brick Road back to the Kansas City area this October!

As the actual concert day draws near, be on the lookout for information updates, as the pieces we will be performing will be announced in due time. For now, please mark your calendars and invite all your family and friends as we get this season started off! And if you are unable to make our Fall Concert due to other commitments, please join us later in the season at one, or all, of our future concerts. They are at the same time and place as this first one, all on Sunday afternoons:

December 15th, 2013 (Holiday Concert)
February 23rd, 2014 (Winter Concert)
May 4th, 2014 (Spring Concert & features our 5th Annual Solo Contest Winner)

Again, please invite your family and friends to come join us throughout the season. Also, if you haven't already, come like us on Facebook and/or check out our website at www.nwsband.org for more information about this wonderful group of musicians from the Kansas City and beyond areas.

Come one, come all!

Please join us for our next concert on Sunday, October 13, 2013 at Park Hill High School at 4:00 pm

The program includes

Them Basses - G. H. Huffine

Children's March - Percy Grainger

Overture from Nabucco - Giuseppe Verdi

Kirkpatrick Fanfare - Andrew Boysen

Introduction to Third Act of Lohengrin - Richard Wagner

Selections from Wicked - Stephen Schwartz

Lassus Trombone - Henry Fillmore